SIMPLE SUPER SALAD to get you movin!

Standard

Few things perk me up as much as a great crisp salad or juicy fresh fruits. This one is a great, inexpensive Health Food Lovers dream!

Find yourself a great head of green cabbage and slice 1/2 of it up (remove the core first)  I like to shred mine in small slivers…put this in a bowl and add 1/2 again in measure shredded carrots and toss. Then 1/4 cup of roasted sunflower seeds. (no shell) and VOILA instant Health salad! This will keep for days.

Just top with your favorite low calorie vinagrette or balsamic. I used Newmans Own Lite Sesame Ginger and it was awesome. Just 2 TBS is 35 calories and I only used 1 TBS on my small bowl and it was more than enough. I would recommend some crunchy bean sprouts for the top when you serve (I forgot those) they add a great crunch factor.

Here’s my mid morning creation: you can try adding fresh, sliced, squash and zucchini for a good punch too.

This small bowl was less than 30 calories including the dressing and it was great. That entire 2 quart bowl is probably less than 200 calories (without dressing) and 140 of that 200 is just in Sunflower seeds!

So enjoy, Crunch and eat your way towards a healthier you! Packs well in a lunch too.

Don’t add dressing until ready to serve.

ENJOY!

About margie rigney

I'm a woman with too much to say to keep it to myself. Stop by for a virtual coffee break with me and refill your cup. Life is too short to worry too much and take it too seriously. Sometimes you just gotta laugh, even when it hurts.

Comments are closed.