Chicken….It’s what’s for dinner!

Standard

I love my crock pot.

On days when I am away from the house it works hard for me to make a great meal for my family and I don’t even have to be here to do anything other than put in the meat/vegetable and turn it on. It magically does the rest!

Today I was running low on my food budget. I had to make a quick, healthy meal and shop quickly.

Today Boneless, skinless, chicken thighs were on sale at my local supermarket. I purchased 8 thighs for 3.81 cents!

While I love a good Barbeque…(do I ever)…Barbeque sauce itself, can contain a lot of sugar. So today I just made up a quick “rub” for my chicks and after a good massage I placed them in my trusty crock and put on the lid turned it on HI and they will be ready in about 4 1/2 hours.

Why I like rubs:

1. Very low in calories, usually ZERO.

2. Seals the flesh and locks in flavor

3. Cheap.

4. Delicious!

Here’s a quick go-to rub:

1 TBS of garlic powder, 1/4 cup of paprika, 3 TBS of black pepper, 1/4 cup of dark brown sugar, 1 tsp Cayenne pepper, 1/2 tsp celery seeds, 1 and 1/2 TBS dried onion flakes, 1/4 cup of coarse salt or sea salt. (I leave this out on chicken or you can reduce if you are limited sodium) and for chicken and poultry in the crock, I add 1 tsp of parsley flakes to the chicks.

This is a big batch of RUB. Don’t use it all at once! Save it in an old spice jar or a baggie in your spice cabinet.

The amount seen below is a small batch. I used just about all of it!

Mix it all up and just use a little at a time for all your meats to sweat it out in the oven, crock or the smoker. Then add the BBQ later, you won’t add as many calories and you won’t worry about the “burn” that BBQ can sometimes get in a crock pot for extended periods of time.

I’ll be having this later with baked potato wedges, asparagus and light bread.

All dressed up and nowhere to go...

About margie rigney

I'm a woman with too much to say to keep it to myself. Stop by for a virtual coffee break with me and refill your cup. Life is too short to worry too much and take it too seriously. Sometimes you just gotta laugh, even when it hurts.

Comments are closed.